Assassin’s Apprentice


Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer Trilogy #1)

by Robin Hobb, Narrated by Paul Boehmer

4 Stars

I really enjoyed this one. Of course I listened to the audio book. I thought the narration was good, nothing remarkable but nice to listen to. I would listen to this narrator again. The main character was interesting and realistic. It follows him through his childhood up to young adulthood. It was fun to “see” him grow up. I think the author did a nice job keeping the perspective appropriate to the age of the character and it changed as the character aged. Very well done. The plot was well built and I didn’t feel that it was too predictable. This is always important to me. I have a difficult time reading a book when I know where it is going. The magic mechanics in the book were interesting and not overly explained. The “rules” of the magic were not heavily painted out, but rather came out as they applied to the plot and rising events. I often find training of the character boring. This story did that well. There was conflict through out his training that made the story interesting. As the title implies, he is training to be an assassin. He also trains in his magical skills. Both aspects of his development as a character were well done. This story surrounds a royal family with all the expected political plot knots. However, I felt that the way that the main character blunders through them and into them was interesting and realistic. The end of the novel left me wanting more and I was glad to note that this is the first book in a series. I think that if the end leaves you wanting more the novel has done things right. Especially if it is in a series of books. The love interest in the story in a complex and interesting character in her own right. The romance sub plot was well written. Just as Fitz blunders through court politics, he also struggles with the dynamics of love and relationships. This is exactly what I’d expect from a first love of adolescence. I’d recommend this one to anyone who enjoys political plots and a fantasy setting. Good read!

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on September 7, 2017, in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

