No Discussion


I wrote a post a while back titled Rainbow Retards. I’ve gotten quite a bit of interesting attention regarding this post, most of which has been by of way private messages. I did share and reply to the two comments that were submitted. I just wanted to write a little about my experience and thoughts surrounding this post.

Admittedly, I did not pick the kindest title for the post. The entire piece was sardonic and intended to be written that way. I received a lot of complaints regarding the not PC language and tone of the writing. Let me clarify: that was the point. I also want to say that I will not be changing the title or rewriting the post. It’s going to sit there on my blog, just the way it is.

All of the responses that I received about this post were either regarding the writing style or were like the comments that I shared. I find this disheartening. Not that I expected everyone to be happy about my post. I knew that people would disagree with it and that it would push some buttons. But I had hoped that there would be at least a handful of people interested in engaging in a discussion rather then attacking me as a person for having an opinion different then their own. This is the issue that I want to talk about in this post.

When the response to a differing view point is “Your a dumb bitch” I cannot help but wonder if we have completely forgotten two very important things: 1) we all have the right to opposing opinions and the right to express them, 2) discussion of differing opinions is both powerful and important in resolving social issues. I feel that people have lost touch with each other in general, but especially in regards to their abilities to formulate and present opinions. Alright, you think that I’m a dumb bitch. Why? What about my position is dumb? Present your case.

This is part of this rights movement that I find so frustrating. They argue that everyone has equal rights, but they then attack those who are exercising their rights by expressing an opinion differing from their own. They declare that all people are different and those differences should be respected… until those differences conflict with their belief system. Sorry, but rights don’t work that way. If we are going to embrace the differences of other people, then that must include those that we dislike or disagree with. That’s how rights work. If you only have those “rights” when you have the correct position/opinion that’s called a dictatorship. Is that who we want to become?

So, please, express your opinion. You never know, maybe you’ll change my mind. I believe that people have their opinions based upon something. Tell me what that is. Perhaps by engaging in a public debate and/or discussion we can begin to work out the issues that are dividing this culture/country. But when anyone resorts to using name calling and character bashing as their method for trying to break down their opposition, they only serve to further the hate. Isn’t that what your movement is supposed to be fighting against?

 

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on July 22, 2017, in Ramblings and Rants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

