And Back Again…


Just like that, vacation is over and I’m back to work. It was a nice vacation. I enjoyed not having an agenda and not having to solve any problems. I did quite a bit of reading. Finished one book and got half way through another. I did some drawing. Got 2 more coloring pages completed. But mostly, I loafed and chatted with the good company around me. The food was great and I didn’t have to cook any of it (which always makes it taste better). The long drive wasn’t even bad. We listened to an audio book. Haven’t finished that, but I most likely will while doing some crochet… at some point. πŸ˜›

We did some shopping. Went to a book store and a stationary store. And there is a used book store that we stop at every time we visit his dad. It’s a great store and there are always such wonderful things there. It is super easy for us to spend a ton of money on books, art supplies and paper. All 3 of us are bibliophiles and 2 of us are artsy. Even going to a used book store, we easily rack up the money. We walked out with a box full of books which is awesome and if we had bought the same books new we would have only gotten a 1/4 of them at best. I prefer used books myself not only for the price but because I’m pretty hard on books. Might as well buy them used when I know that they are going to be looking rough once I’ve carried them around with me a while.

Monkey and I have sorting out and getting rid of things on our docket, but books almost always seem exempt to this. We did go through our books a while back and thinned the stacks. Mostly, we got rid of books that we had duplicates of. But there were a few that we bought for classes or had been given to us that neither of us really wanted. Getting rid of books is like saying good bye to a friend. I don’t have a great memory for stories so I can read a book a bunch of times almost like it was the first time. My memory focuses around the themes and major ideas rather then on the plot and characters. It makes it easy for me to reread novels.

So, what were the best finds this time in our book hunt? I found 2 Aliens books that I didn’t own. One of the 2 I didn’t even know existed. Finding books in the Aliens universe can be a pain in the ass. Try typing Aliens in a book search. It won’t be just the Aliens universe books that come up. They aren’t all by the same author. They aren’t all from the same publishing company. Yeah. Pain in the ass. So, when I find them, I do a happy dance on the inside. And sometimes I do a happy dance on the outside too. πŸ™‚

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on June 16, 2017, in The Pig's Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

