Apple sued for not adding safety fix to prevent use of FaceTime while driving — The Guardian


Couple alleges Apple should be held accountable for daughter’s death in car crash with distracted driver, after it patented but never introduced ‘safer’ FaceTime. A couple whose five-year-old daughter was killed after a distracted driver drove into their car is suing Apple for failing to introduce an iPhone safety feature it patented in 2014 to discourage…

via Apple sued for not adding safety fix to prevent use of FaceTime while driving — The Guardian

I’m sure that any of you following me for any amount of time have come to know that I am not a supporter of corporations as a general whole and I will definitely agree that they fail to take responsibility to meet the safety standards that they should. But this time, I stand on the corporation’s side. I don’t care if there was technology that could have prevented the driver from using face time while driving. The cause of the accident was an unsafe and distracted driver, not Apple or the device that the driver was using. We as individuals do need to take personal responsibility for our own lives and our own choices.

Corporations are doing terrible things in this world that they need to be held accountable for, but that doesn’t mean that we can shunt every ounce of responsibility onto them. I sure as fuck don’t want them to shoulder the entire responsibility for my safety and well being. Do you? Consider for a moment what that would look like. The more we demand that these companies and our tech take care of us, the more control and power we give over to them. How much are you ready to give? And for what?

The reality of this case is that there is a possibility of getting money and they are grabbing for it. Nothing more.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on January 7, 2017, in Ramblings and Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. True but I’m more concerned by what it means if they win.

    Like

    • Yeah. Who knows where that will go? I’m really tired of people wanted other people to take responsibility. I worry that it means that there will be more regs put into place for companies to put in more “protective” devices. No thanks. Leave me to make my own choices thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

