Tumult


At this time of tumult, I am afraid. I am not here to talk about the new president or my political view points regarding him. I’m sure I will get there some where along the way in future posts since there is plenty of material out there for me to respond to.

I am writing this to talk about a division in our country that no one seems to have noticed has happened. Or least, I am not seeing anyone talking about. Our country is deeply divided and it is not just between the “haves” and “have nots”. There are too many divisions here. There is a lot of anger and hate in our country. I hear a lot of messages of tearing things down and breaking things. This is the language of fear… of violence.

stock-photo-21010195

Our country is beginning to pull and push against itself. Silicon Valley wants California to secede from the US. Will running from the problems really solve anything? I think most will follow them into their new little nation… There are so many of us unhappy with the election result that we are looking to move to other countries. Enough so that we crashed the Canadian immigration site. There have been protests. These protesters are not protesting democracy as many in social media are accusing them of. They are angry that a president was elected against popular vote. This is creating further division.

Where will this all lead us?

We have been expressing dissatisfaction and distrust in the system for a long time now. At risk of sounding like an alarmist or paranoid: It is important to remember that our country is not immune from civil war or complete collapse. We must be careful not to throw ourselves into complete chaos in this time of deeply opposing views. We must struggle to come together. Distrust of the system must not be allowed to bleed over into distrust in each other.

Please, do not let our fear become hate and violence.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on November 10, 2016, in Ramblings and Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

