071216


Worked. A regular night. A good night. Josh has taken time off and I missed him. I always enjoy his sense of humor. Was a busy night since we got an admission, but it was good. Instead of Josh, we had Susan. I usually don’t work with her. I had brought a small bottle of glitter with the intention of glitter bombing Josh. He hates glitter and he has been giving me such a hard time as of late. I warned him that I’d glitter bomb him if he kept harassing me and he kept on. So, now he is going to get glitter bombed. So, I was disappointed that he wasn’t there. Ah well. He’ll be back and I’ll have the glitter ready!

It was Debbie’s last shift. She is one of the travel nurses. She has been there about 2 years. Whenever her contract came up she’d renew it. But we’ve had a lot of new hires and she wasn’t renewed. As a person, Debbie drives me nuts. I feel she is over bearing. She is one of those people that you either really like or really don’t. I have no complaint about her work. She has good attention to detail. Does a good job.

People brought her in cake to wish her well. I find the good bye party a strange tradition. It is unlikely that any of us will see her again. Perhaps that’s the point of the party? But people set up and participate in these parties even when they don’t like the person. It puzzles me.

There aren’t very many travel nurses left and that’s a good thing. I have nothing against travelers. They fill an important role. But it is better to have our own staff. It makes things better on so many levels. I think that leaves us with Claudine. I can’t think of another traveler, but I feel like it’s a jumble with all the people coming and going. Sometimes people have been there a while and I haven’t even met them yet. Night shift has been a small and tight group with long term staff. We haven’t had much coming and going. And we don’t see those who are on days and evenings all that much. Seems it is that way where ever I go. Each shift self selects and I think that builds a culture on each shift. A culture that feels much the same at each place that I have worked. I love night shift because it is my time of day but also because it is my group of people.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on July 12, 2016, in The Pig's Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

