061416


Started my day off with a tablet weaving class. Turns out that the basic concept is the same as bead weaving with the addition of the cards. That’s the part that makes the weaving so complex; not on skill level, but the end patterns themselves. Was a great class. I learned a lot.

Some books that I want to check out:

  • Technical Tablet Weaving
    • ISBN 1-56659-055-8
    • By Peter Collingwood
  • Card Weaving
    • ISBN 0-934026-61-0
    • By Candice Crockette

Some websites:

  • Twist
  • Guntrum tablet weaving thingy

It was a nice relaxed and unstructured format. Great time! Looked at looms at one of the vendors, but Sue said she would give us one that she has but isn’t using. That’s a place to start.

After that class, there was a good amount of down time I spent hanging and chatting with the family πŸ™‚ Spent more time with them in the past few days then I have in the past month. Maybe I need to take vacations to spend time with them…

Oh wait, before the down time, I went to see the vendor to learn to drop spindle. It was easier in concept then I thought it would be. The challenge was getting my fingers to do it. Comes down to needing a shit ton of practicing. The vendor was wonderful. She was very patient and never made me feel dumb for having no clue what I was doing. But that was why I was there.

At the end of the day (2100) I went to the Tor party. It was basically a drinking party. Can’t go wrong with free alcohol and belly dancers. The down point to that event is that I don’t know many people so there wasn’t anyone to chat with. It was better after Monkey came. I left early.

Time to try for some sleep.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on June 14, 2016, in The Pig's Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

