Another Take on GMing Types | Gnome Stew – The Game Mastering Blog


Another Take on GMing Types | Gnome Stew – The Game Mastering Blog.

Storyteller:

This is so me! I love to tell a good story.
This GM has a story to tell starring the players. They take care in crafting an elaborate story with multiple plot lines, and twists.

  • The Good – the story that the GM creates can be pretty amazing, and make for a memorable campaign.
  • The Bad – the GM cannot let player’s actions ruin the story, and it can turn into a railroad.

I don’t always have complex plots and twists, but I do like to set things up that give the players the option to really dig into the role play.

Worldbuilder

Yeah, this is my other thing. I have a world that I have built. I use it in both my writing and my GMing. I have woven so many stories into this world that I know it really well. This setting gives a complex political back drop to play a game in.
This GM is about creating amazing and detailed worlds complete with: cultures, holidays, greeting customs, etc. They spend hours outside of the game crafting all manner of details of the world. They often have elaborate homebrew games. (I don’t home brew. I run modern as is)

  • The Good – this GM creates rich settings that draw you into the world of the game. You feel like you are there.
  • The Bad – this GM is too focused on showing you the world and you are on a sightseeing trip, with too much exposition about the world before getting to the action.

I think that I do pretty well as a GM. I think that my real short coming is that I suck a learning the rules. So, I won’t run much beyond Modern. But I can, if the players want me to and there is no one else to run it.

Do you GM? If so, what’s your style? Do you think there’s a style that they missed?

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on April 26, 2016, in Ramblings and Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

