Piggie Update 010516


It’s currently early morning of 010616. I slept all day yesterday after having worked the night before. I had hoped to get things done while I got myself to turn over to the day shift since I work a day shift today. But I didn’t sleep well during the days between the last 3 shifts I worked. Not that I didn’t sleep. It was just that kind of sleep where you don’t feel rested. Instead it feels like you tossed and turned the whole time. The shifts went well enough.

Yesterday, I had to go to my CPR test. Every year I have to demonstrate that I know how to do it (for work). And every 2 years I have to take the refresher course and re-test so I can keep my CPR card. So, I’d scheduled myself for the class that was right after my shift so that I didn’t have to make a special trip up there. It wasn’t too bad. Only 6 people had signed up for that day so it only took and hour to get all of us tested on the various dummies with 1 and 2 person CPR.

Then I came home and watched a show about bees while I had some breakfast. I was falling asleep while eating… That’s a bad sign in context of trying to get anything done. So, I just gave up and went to bed around 1200. I’d gotten home at 1000, not very long before I was out of batteries and needed a recharge.

I slept until 1900 when Skunk (she lives in the apartment above us) came in and woke me up. She said that her sister, Melissa, called and told her that Grandma was over at the hospital. There was no more information on Gram’s status then that because Melissa was in the waiting room. She had let us know that Uncle Mike and Aunt Hazel were over there too. No need for us to go over then. We’d just be sitting in the waiting room for the update.

We had supper. Mac and Cheese, chicken stuffing, broccoli, cranberry jelly and red hot dogs. I know, it sounds weird but it really is a great meal. Oh, there was coffee. But I suppose that is a given. After dinner we got the update that Gram was fine. Dehydrated (not surprising because she doesn’t drink much) which lead to her lab work to be off and had caused her to fall. No injury from the fall. They gave her and IV and she was feeling better so they discharged her. So, she’s fine.

Then I went back to bed and am just getting up now. I hate it when I crash out for these long stretches. It feels like such a waste of time. I’m not excited about working day shift today, but that was what was available and I want the over time. Trying to save up so that we can buy each of us a new computer, go on a trip to New York in April and go to Kansas over the summer. I have to work over time to be able to set aside the money for those things.

And day shift isn’t terrible. It just means working when I am normally sleeping and that breaks up my body’s rhythm. But I am solidly on day shift now. At least the marathon of sleep got me that. 

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on January 6, 2016, in The Pig's Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

