Nov Writing Challenge Summary


This was an interesting month. I am glad that I took on this challenge, it was fun and I haven’t written this much in a long time. It felt great to flex my writing muscles again. The goal was to have a poem or short story posted each day. And I wanted to write 50,000 words.

How’d I do? Well, I did get something posted every day. I was surprised that some longer pieces came out that I had to post over several days. And I have one piece that isn’t finished yet and I will be posting more for Fists Full of Time this month. I plan on finishing it as quickly as the others. I reached a total of 50,066 words during Nov!

I feel like I achieved my goal even though it didn’t turn out quite the way that I expected. To best pace myself 12,500 each week would have spread the work over the month and left me with 2 days to finish things off so that all the pieces were complete and posted within Nov. It didn’t go that way. The first week had 10,233 words, the second had only 7,177 and the third week was even less with 6411 words. But luckily I was able to hit a writing storm in the fourth week and wrote 18,955 words that week. I finished the last do days with 7,291 words. It was a crazy race at the end, but I made it!

The hardest part of the challenge was having both the time and energy to write. Luckily I had several work shifts with down time I was able to write in. Other wise I would have fallen short of my word count goal. But things worked out.

Now, I have to decide what I will be doing moving forward. There has been so much pleasure in this month’s writing that I want to keep going with it. But I also have a lot of crochet projects that need to be finished before Xmas. So, I will have to find a balance between the two so I can get the Xmas projects done. Perhaps, I will focus on finishing Fists Full of Time and getting the Xmas projects done. I think my next goal month will be Jan.

Thank you to everyone who has been reading this month. I appreciate you all visiting my site so much. I also want to send a big thanks to TBP who posted a good portion of the prompts that got things going. Those were a HUGE help!

Posted on November 30, 2015, in Notices and Information and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m so happy you found such great motivation on TBP! It’s why I do what I do. Best Christmas gift! Thx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

