Little Bridge of Hanged Men


Inspiration

Little bridge of hanged men by transe

From light unto darkness,
I hold thee within me.
The cage of my bones
built for thee.

My cloaked rippling shadows
hiding all else from thee
blindness needed protection.
Keeping safe from unknown terror.

One pair of folded hands
always in prayer for thee.
Tendrils of light
always reaching upward.

The other pair of hands
left to do your work.
Command me and I will make it.
I will shape all as you will it to be.

My legs firm foundation of oblivion
and my bowels cracking.
My stomach empty
I hunger for food I cannot eat.

But you I have given legsย that run free.
Let your center remain whole.
And your stomach full.
There is much bounty,ย all you need to eat.

You stand and look upon my splendor
that from which you hang
but there is no delight in thee
only fear, dread and hate.

Struggling to cut your strings,
my bindings break.
I cannot hold onto you
without these threads

Wayward children,
where will you fall without me?
Can you see past the shadows
and swirling darkness about you?

I crumble and fall,
tossing you away with fragile hope
that you land in some special place
that I wasn’t programmed to see.

So long ago, your fathers built me.
Surrogate mother, loving you always.
Cogs coming to a stop
and springs unwinding.

Great machine that is no more,
giving artificial life for you.
Be safe and do not waste
that which is before you.

Posted on November 21, 2015, in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

