The Host (The Book)


smiling-gold-starsmiling-gold-starsmiling-gold-starsmiling-gold-star

print-signs-full-star-rating-empty
By Stephanie Meyer
This was a pretty good book. There was a bit more romance then I personally needed, but not to the point that it ruined the book. There was also quite a bit that didn’t seem to move the story along. Those are the 2 reasons that I didn’t give the book 5 stars. I enjoyed the dynamic between Mel and Wanda. The inner dialogue between the 2 was really well done. Wanda really didn’t feel very alien, but I felt this was believable because she had been fused with a human mind. This was one of the better work arounds for trying to portray the foreign thinking of an alien. The writing style was easy to listen to, it flowed really well. I love listening to audio books and this was one that really did well in that medium. It was read by Kate Reading and her voice is smooth and she does well in shifting her voice between the characters without feeling forced. This is a 24 hour listening experience that is worth the time.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on October 19, 2015, in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. no matter how much people slam her twilight series, I like her writing style. that said, even though i read so much books in my youth I dun seem to have the aptitude for them anymore. I bought the book ages before and not a page is read. THat goes for so many awesome books. In this period where I am shifting to online contents, reading a book needed too much work and doesn’t allow me to multitask as opposed to watching shows. I think I need to schedule day offs to read thou. It wasn’t that thick.

    Like

    • I haven’t read her twight novels, so I don’t have an opinion on them. This one was good. Really worth reading. Perhaps you should try audio books. They let you multi task. You can listen while you’re washing dishes or driving or doing what ever.

      Like

      • the thing is, I don’t pay attention. My attention is mostly on the item i am making, so the eyes help too, like when i read or watch, i look at the screen/book

        Like

      • Yeah, that is one advantage to watching a movie. I have a difficult time sitting still so listening to a book while I do something actually makes it easier for me to pay attention to the book. It is interesting how each person responds to various mediums. I suppose that’s why us humans have created and consumed so many different ones! Sounds like some scheduled reading time would be good for you then. I think it is always a good idea to schedule time for yourself to do something that you enjoy.

        Like

      • Well, it’s a matter of scheduling and making time for things. I wonder how long have I been like this. I am reading very slowly now. I think next reading session is when I need to travel. Waiting time sucks and I don’t like to waste the power on electronics when I’m travelling.

        Like

      • I read slowly too. And who doesn’t hate the waiting times! I think books are a great why to wait 😀

        Like

      • it is thru these times that i learnt which books i dislike.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

