Working with a Magic Circle


Almost all the little ones that I make are based off working in rounds rather then rows. It can seem daunting at first, but it is really easy to do. I mostly work with single crochet, but you can really use any stitch in a magic circle, but it becomes more complex with the more involved stitches. So, I’m just going to focus on doing it with the single crochet at this point.

You can work a magic circle with any number as your base. I personally always use 6 (unless I’m using someone else’s pattern). It’s not that a 6 base is any easier then another number, it’s just that I can do the math for this one in my head which makes the project move along a lot faster. So, I will be explaining the magic circle with a 6 base, but remember that other count bases can be used.

Chain 2. In the first chain, single crochet 6 stitches (this gives you the base of 6 stitches)

Note: Each round is worked right into the previous round without chaining or turning the project. You just keep moving along the circle.

In the second round put 2 single crochet into each stitch (this is called increasing). It will give you 12 stitches (2nd row = 12 or 2×6)

Round 3: In the first stitch, put in one single crochet. In the second stitch, increase (put 2 single crochet into the one stitch). Repeat this along the round until you have 18 stitches. (3rd row = 18 or 3×6)

Round 4: single crochet in the first 2 stitches, then increase in the next stitch (put 2 single crochet into the stitch). Continue with this until you have 24 stitches (4th row = 24 or 4×6)

You keeping making the circle larger in this fashion. the 5th row will be 30 stitches (5×6) with the increase on the on the 5th stitch (single crochet in the first 3 stitches and then increase in the 4th stitch which gives you a total of 5 stitches). The number of the round will be the number that you put in the increase and the number of times by 6 to get your total number of stitches.

Once your circle is as large as you want it to be and you want it to start making sides, simply start putting single crochets into each stitch without making any increases. At first, this will not pull up the edges, but give it a few rounds and you will start to see the edges pull up.

Alright, now for some pictures to help with the visualization of this!

Chain 2

magic circle 003

Round 1: Put 6 single crochet into the first chain

magic circle 018

Round 2: put 2 single crochet into each stitch (making a count of 12 with the increase on the second stitch). I think you would normally see it like this: [Inc] repeat x6.

magic circle 019

Round 3: Single crochet in the first stitch, then increase. Move around the project until you have 18 stitches. I think you’d normally see it like this: [SC, inc] repeat x6.

magic circle 025

Round 4: Single crochet in the first 2 stitches, then increase. Move around the project until you have 24 stitches. I think you’d normally see it like this [SCx2, inc] repeat x6.

magic circle 026

Round 5: Single crochet in the first 3 stitches, then increase. Move around the project until you have 30 stitches. I think you’d normally see it like this [SCx3, inc] repeat x6.

magic circle 027

Round 6: Single crochet in the first 4 stitches, then increase. Move around the project until you have 36 stitches. I think you’d normally see it like this [SCx4, inc] repeat x6.

magic circle 028

Once you’ve made the circle as large as you’re looking for, you can start getting that dome shape by putting 1 single crochet into each stitch. So, to continue from where we left off:

Round 7: put 1 single crochet into each stitch for a total of 36 stitches. I think you’d see it like: SCx36 or 36 SC. Look at the picture below and note that it has a bit of a lop sided look to it. Don’t worry about that, the dome will shape up with the next few rounds.

magic circle 029

 

Round 8: put 1 single crochet into each stitch for a total of 36 stitches. I think you’d see it like: SCx36 or 36 SC. Note how it is less lop sided now and is started to dome up nicely.

magic circle 030

 

Round 9: put 1 single crochet into each stitch for a total of 36 stitches. I think you’d see it like: SCx36 or 36 SC. Now you have that dome shape we were looking for.

magic circle 031

One of the challenges about the magic circle is that the notation for it in patterns varies a lot. I found it frustrating that so many people wrote it differently. But it comes down to the pattern of the numbers. Each round increases by 6.
Round 1: 6 stitches
Round 2: 12 Stitches
Round 3: 18 stitches
Round 4: 24 stitches
Round 5: 30 stitches
Round 6: 36 stitches
And so forth
You add the extra stitch on the same count as the round you are on. If you are on round 5, you put the 5th single crochet in the same stitch as the 4th stitch.

And lastly, you can see a video of it here. It’s not the highest quality video, but it should give you a basic view of how it is made.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on June 26, 2015, in Arts and Crafts, Crochet, Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I can’t work with instructions, so I normally learn all the stuff without the instructions. I can’t even read them. I learnt all these somehow by accidentally doing them. WHich is why i enjoy crochet i guess. That said, i am still trying to find the needle i lost.

    Like

    • I learned most of it by looking at things people made and just trying new things with the yarn. A lot of trial and error. I didn’t learn to read the patterns until about 2-3 years ago (after doing it for about 20 years 😛 ). I hate it when I loose my hooks 😦 Especially if it is my F hook! >.<

      Like

      • i dun crochet that much anyway. I spend more time sewing costumes nowadays or making props.but i still miss that needle when I want to make a good chain stitch just for old times sake

        Like

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

