A Generation of Idiots?


Mandatory – Timeline Photos.

I find the trend of our culture to be distressing. It seems that we are falling more and more into the technology that was once created to give us more time. Now, we seem to be slaved under them. How does it make sense to text someone who is sitting right next to you? Is it that hard to speak?

As we become more bound to the technology we are creating we become more distant to each other and the world on which we live. There will come a day that technology fails us. Will our species be able to survive? There are people now that cannot tell you how to plant a tomato or what one even looks like in an unprocessed state. I find this sad and distressing.

What does it mean for us, that we are so completely dependent upon or technology? I think it has made our minds weak and has taken away our ability to truly understand our world. It seems that people no longer struggle to learn or understand the world around them. Why learn about the clouds? You can just look it up on the internet if you want to know something about those fluffy white puffs in the sky.

But what happens when we have all forgotten about the clouds? Just because it is put on the internet does not make it true. How good at sifting for the truth are these dependent technology humans? Would they know if they were fed nothing but lies? How could they? Wisdom, and the ability to see truth, comes from learning and living. You cannot live with your mind wrapped up in the unreal.

Don’t misunderstand me. I like technology. After all, I am sitting her typing into my computer and putting out more information into the internet. But I struggle not to forget where its place should be. I have a small garden. I look up at the sky. And I most definitely talk to people (whether they want me to or not).

What are your thoughts? Is technology taking control of us? Or is it freeing us?

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on June 6, 2015, in Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I struggle with that too! When my friends and I were supposed to meet up to scout an area for shoot, and the one who knew the area can’t make it, and we are lost, she refused to pick up our call and msged back saying she doesn’t pick up call. I understand if it is from an unknown number. BUT from a number you know, and you knew we were trying to find our way today? OMG. And Yes, I am here, but I am also constantly crafting things and trying new food and stuff.

    Like

  2. sorry I need to add on that while my friends and I enjoy ourselves on the net, we do it cos we cannot meet up every single day or time we want to. We do all our planning while we are on the net or off the net, and when it is time to gather, we keep track of each other thru the phone/net but once we met up successfully (i,e, found the correct place, etc), the phone would be in the pocket/bag and we hang out.

    Like

    • There are some uses for the phone and I think that those who cannot see each other in person should definitely use the internet as an option, but it really drives me crazy when people are in real life and they are still using the phone. Sometimes, to OTHER people. o.O

      Like

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

