Feeling the Love


Monkey and I have been together 16 years now. First, admitting that makes me feel old. Many times people ask me about how to make a relationship last and how to get a “perfect” relationship. Sorry, but there are no perfect relationships and there are no “happily ever after” stories. I’m not romantic. That all being said, I decided that I would put out some thoughts on relationships.

The single most important thing that you can do to create a good relationship: Communicate with your partner. Be honest and open. Try to be tactful, but honesty is more important. When you are upset, tell them. When it happens, not 3 weeks later. If you are really angry, take a little time to calm and collect your thoughts, but don’t let it stew. If you let stuff like that fester, it will get worse. Don’t try to avoid hurting their feelings. A little hurt now is way better then a lot of hurt later. Don’t tell them after you let the little thing grow into a giant beastie that eats them in a big gooey bite; it’s messy.

There areย no rules. No 2 people are a like. There fore, no 2 relationships are a like. Do what works for you and your partner. Don’t try to fit your relationship into a prescribed box. It isn’t going to fit. Smashing it in will cause it to bend and/ or break; you don’t want that.

Wait. There is one rule: Violence is never ok. Never.

Compromise. Make sure the needs of both parties are met. As for the wants, make sure that they are evenly spread around. A relationship is like sharing an apple pie. If you eat 2/3 of it, your partner isn’t going to feel like they really got an honest share. So, take turns and meet in the middle.

Alright, the last piece of advice. Get naked. No! Wait! Put your clothes back on. *blushing* Yes, that kind of naked is good. But it’s not what I am talking about here. Let your partner see beneath your facade. We all have one. But if you want to be close to someone, you have to let them look under the mask. That’s the hardest, but most important part.

This is a great article on relationships: 9 Good Signs Youโ€™re in the Right Relationship.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on May 13, 2015, in Medical and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bill Taylor

    Marriage is not a 50/50 endeavor. You must both give 100% of yourself at all times. My 100% may not be as large as her 100% , and vice versa, but it is all I am able to give at that time. It all evens out in the end in a happy loving relationship. I’m sure it can be said in fewer words or a more eloquent fashion. but this is my two cents worth. I am very proud of you and Monkey’s relationship.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

