Meat Pies


This recipe is connected with lots of good childhood memories. It was the meal that I always asked my mother to make on my birthday.

Meat Pies

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Full meal in a pocket of crust.

Filling Ingredients

  1. 1 pound Hamburger
  2. 1 cup finely chopped potato (1/4 inch cubes or smaller)
  3. 1/2 cup puree onion
  4. 1/2 cup finely chopped carrot (1/4 inch cubes or smaller)
  5. 1/4 whole cup milk
  6. 3 tsp Worcestershire sauce

Crust Ingredients

  1. 4 cups flour
  2. 2 tsp sugar
  3. 1.75 cups of shortening
  4. 1/2 cup water
  5. 1 tbs vinegar

Directions

You start with the filling. Mix all ingredients together. Cover with plastic and put in fridge. Let stand for 24 hours.

Then you make the crust on the same day you are cooking the pies.

Mix together sugar and flour. Mix together the water and vinegar. Cut the shortening into the dry ingredients until there are only fine lumps. Then slowly mix in the liquid. This will make a soft, fairly dry and crumbly dough. Wrap in plastic and let stand in the fridge for a 1/2 hour.

Then it’s time to put them together!

Roll the crust out into 7 inch circles, making the dough 1/4 inch thick. Put 1/2 cup of the filling into the center of the crust. Fold the crust in half and flute the edges together. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 450 degrees for 10 minutes, then reduce to 350 degrees and bake for 45 minutes.

  1. You can use what ever kind of hamburger you want to. But I like to get the leanest possible because I don’t like having the fat run out when I cut my pie. Keep in mind that the fat has no where to go…
  2. Leaving the potato and carrot at the 1/4 cube size makes for firm to bite pieces. Cutting them smaller will make them softer. However, smaller pieces don’t offer a sense of separate flavors.
  3. I like using yellow onions in this recipe and I tend to go for the larger ones, but this is a taste preference. Chives or white onions would work just as well.
  4. To avoid the need to use flour while working with the dough, use wax paper. Put down a sheet on the table and then put one on top of the dough. This way the dough is being pressed between the sheets of paper and is unlikely to stick. *using flour to work with the dough will leave a powdery coat on the outside of your pie.
  5. When I flute my edges, I like to have the edge so it is at the top of the pie, but laying it on its side to flute the edge will not change anything but the appearance of the product.
  6. When fluting the edges together, using a small amount of water will help the dough stick together.
  7. For a browner looking crust, you can brush the pie with an egg wash prior to putting them in the oven.
  8. These are great served with beef gravy and cheddar cheese.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on April 17, 2015, in Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

