Sonic Doll


So, I found this really awesome pattern for a Sonic doll. The pattern was pretty easy to follow and was a lot of fun to make. I just wanted to share the end product.

sonic 2014 003

I think he turned out super cute! The colors aren’t quite right to be true to the character, but I had to use the yarns that I could find. I made him out of 100% cotton so that he is completely washable. That was important since he was a gift for a child.

sonic 2014 005

I think that his nose was one of the best parts of the doll, it’s really like the character’s.

sonic 2014 006

It’s a little odd to have the spiral on his back, but I feel this is a minor issue. I am used to the stitches being done in rows that move up the body rather then having the rounds show on the side. Makes me think of a turtle.

sonic 2014 017

In this photo you can see that there was some spaces between this stitches, which was a disappointment. It isn’t enough for the stuffing to come through, but since the yarn is dark it makes it look like he has white freckles if the light catches it in the wrong way.

sonic 2014 007

I had to get one with him pose with a little attitude, but I also wanted you to see that he turned out really flexible. I think that’s a great feature for a child’s doll, but may or may not be something a collector would want.

sonic 2014 011

Sonic stands just about a foot tall. So, mine turned out quite a bit smaller then the one the pattern shows, but that’s because of the yarn that I chose to make him out of.

sonic 2014 012 sonic 2014 013

I have never use felt to make the eyes before and I was hesitant to do it this way, but I think they came out alright.

sonic 2014 014 sonic 2014 015

Well, that’s my Sonic. If you’re interested in making one of your own, you can find the pattern here.

Happy Hooking!

Posted on March 15, 2015, in Arts and Crafts, Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

