Dream Journal


I was in an old brick building. There were a lot of people moving around me and there was a hard rain. A good part of the building was getting flooding so there was water coming down the stairs and puddles all through the place. The building was immense. There were balcony areas that were starting to crumble away beneath the onslaught of the rain. Looking down from the balconies you could see that the building was on a jut of land so that the ocean was on 3 of its sides. The waves raged up over the rocky beach and up against the sides of the building.

Everyone was dressed in rain coats and long black, rubber boots. Everyone around me seemed to think this kind of ocean attack was part of working there. I felt panic rising up in me and I was running through the building. I was looking for someone, but I could no longer recall who or even why. But the sense of urgency in finding them was intense.

A man came up to me and he was holding a fish which was squirming in his hands. In alarm, he shoved into my arms and then backed away. I watched him retreat. I was puzzled by his distress over the fish until I looked down at it. I stared at it a long time before I began to fully understand what it was that I was looking it. The fish had been gutted. There was nothing left in it’s middle. I could see its spine and the delicate curve of the ribs. Yet is thrashed in my hands, clearly still alive. I released it. Instead of dropping down into the puddle of water at my feet as I expected it to; it swam through the air as though it were its natural element.

Wiping my hands against my jeans, I climbed the stairs in front of me. Mental focus was slipping from me and I found it difficult to attend to what was going on around me. I kept wiping my hands, sure that I could still feel the slime of the the fish’s scales. I lurched and bumped into someone who pushed me away. I stumbled and fell back, splashing into the cold water.

But I felt hot. I pulled off my raincoat. There was no point in wearing it now that I was fully soaked beneath it. Leaving it where it fell, I stumbled to my feet and sloshed through the water that rushed down the steps past me. The effort of lifting my legs against the force of the water fatigued me quickly. I clung to the railing, but my hands slid. They were still slick from the fish.

Loosing my balance, I fell back and the water pulled me downward back to the eddy at the bottom of the steps. The fish swam through the air in lazy circles, seeming unaware that there was no fish bowl or water to confine him. Looking down at my hands, I tried to understand the impossibility of it.

People kept rushing past me and the fish. They seemed to notice neither in their hurry. But where were they heading with such urgency? Knowing that I could not make the top of the stairs, I turned and followed them. They rushed in behind heavy metal doors which they quickly closed behind them; denying me access. I leaned hard against the first door and slammed my fists against it, yelling at the people I could hear behind it. No one answered. The door stayed closed.

It began to rain from the ceiling. I looked up, expecting a crack, but there were thick clouds swirling above. The water came down hard and quickly began to fill the small room. I wailed and banged my open hands against the door again, but it gave no purchase and the people behind it gave no response.

I turned and went through the one metal door that had not been slammed shut. No one else had retreated that way. I closed the door behind me and the water lost access to the hall before me. I leaned on the door and felt grateful for the warmth and dry air. Shuffling forward, I wrapped my arms around myself. Shivering and feeling hot at the same time, I let my fatigue win and I slumped to the floor.

Standing out on the balcony of the building, I stretched out my wings and let myself fall over the edge. The street screamed upwards, but my wings caught the air and I was jerked to a stop, then upward. I looked down at the others who were standing on the balcony. They returned my gaze. I left them behind, traveling into  strange city.

Then I woke up.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on March 8, 2015, in Dream Journals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

