A Little History


Well, the new year has arrived and I’ve been thinking about the past. Not just 2014, but all the way back. I’ve decided to write a post reflecting some of these thoughts and memories, but I plan to focus mostly on the past year and the things that I’ve written in my blog.

My first post was back on 5/18/10. I came here because the site I’d been using was closed then I had a mishap at a second site where my account was deleted. I almost gave up on blogging all together at that point, but I decided to come here. I’m glad that I did. Being on Word Press has been a positive experience.

I think I’ve written and posted more in 2014 then I have in previous years. There are a lot of reasons for this. Mostly, I think it’s because my thoughts have been more settled. More recently, I have been taking advantage of the scheduling feature which allows me to cue things as I write them and post them over time rather then in clumps. Seems that this has worked better for my readers too. Who wants to read 8 posts from one person in a single day? Ramble, ramble, ramble…

In 2014 I did not begin the year with any kind of resolution or reflection. I just kept posting the same kinda stuff that I always had. My first post was actually a writing post about word use.

I responded to Plinky prompts which produced post about many topics. Some deep and some superficial fluff. Sadly, the Plinky site has closed and I can no longer use them as inspiration. They had such wonderful prompts that lead to such variety of thought. I will miss them. I’ve found a few places that share prompts and I hope that they will inspire the same kind of writing and thought that Plinky has.

I’ve shared the lyrics of a few songs that I love.

I made a few private posts that were for a select few to read. For those posts, I simply cannot put everything out on the web for everyone to see. I have to a least wear my skivvies! (Imagine me blushing, I’ve been known to.) I rpomise that these will always be few and far between.

I’ve folded my psych blog into this one and have moved all those posts over here. I plan to continue to write those kinds of posts and will be sharing them here. I have been pleasantly surprised by the amount of people who have read, liked and shared these posts. I am glad that people are finding them helpful.

I read 51 books in 2014 and I reviewed most of them. You can check those out at Good Reads. I’m Piggie4299 over there just like every where else.

I reached 300+ posts in 2014!

I’ve been making lots of things! I folded my creative blog into this one and plan to continue to share things that I have been making. This year I shared the creation of: Bat Sock, The Memory Book, and The Cow Cake.

I wrote and shared a few short stories: Blazing Faith and Ornate Mask.

In my life this year: My grand father died. I visited family in Vermont the week of Thanksgiving. I got lost several times through out the year. My sense of direction is as terrible as ever. I shared my experiences with night terrors. I shared a bunch of poetry (the good, the bad and the middle of the road). I wrote about Toaism since I was reading about it. A young boy who lived in our town died. I changed jobs, twice. I’ve finally found myself working in a place I am happy with doing something that I love. I got my license and bought a new car. I’ve lost 20 pounds after changing a few habits. Celebrated 15 years with my husband and being a mother for 14 years.

2014 has been a year of change. Looking towards the future and thinking about 2015, I make no resolutions. I hope that the next year goes more smoothly and I get a chance to settle myself. I am thinking about getting an agency job in addition to the psych job I have now. I’d like to maintain my medical skill set and I think that might be the way to go. I am going to continue to strive to be healthier, with a focus on weight loss. I have a goal of loosing another 40 pounds. I want to read another 50+ books. I want to write more.

I hope that all of you will continue to follow me on my strange adventures and will continue to provide the feed back. I appreciate all the encouragement that you all have given me this past year. Thank you so much!

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on January 8, 2015, in The Pig's Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

