And a Door Closes…


So, I’m done working at CR. There has been a storm of emotions and intellectual processing in response to this closing door. First, I feel relief that the stress I have been experiencing will be reduced. But I will miss the residents and co-workers. After nearly 7 years, they have become a family (even though I resisted it). They gave me a lovely going away party with thoughtful presents that reflected how well they have really come to know me. With this door closing, another has swung open for me. I have started orientation at PRN (haha, the initials are too funny!) and it has been going well. I might be at risk of being bored, but that is one way of reducing stress levels 😛 I think it will be better for my family. The obvious benefit is that I will no longer be in need of transport to and from work. That’s an easy and clear benefit. The people who have been spending 6 hours a week carting my butt back and forth have gotten out the pom poms. Sorting out the ride thing was one of the things contributing to my stress. Walking is good for me, but I’m sure its going to take a few weeks to convince my legs of this. There is a seriously evil hill involved in the mile walk and I have to take that hill on every day before I start my shift. Another good thing is that I will be able to go to my Squirto’s evening events. It seemed over the past few years that these events always managed to fall on the days that I was working that night. I’m sure it is going to take some time to get used to working 8 hour shifts. It’s been a while since I’ve done it. I liked having 4 days off, but 12 hour shifts were part of the stress equation. I get every weekend off, which again gives me more time with my Squirto. And more time with my Squirto is (in theory) a good thing. Of course there is BS every where one ends up working. I have no delusions that there will be no stress nor BS. But I am hoping that the pros out weight the cons. And this transition is the reason that I have fallen off the internet planet. Job hunting sucks. Then there is the fact that I would pretty much do nothing but work and sleep because I was feeling so crappy. The longer the stress levels remained high, the more I began to have difficulties with my chronic medical problems.  And this is the primary reason I chose to leave CR. In the past year, I have had more medical problems then in the previous 5 years. When the heart symptoms began to become a problem, I knew there was no staying. I have no animosity towards CR. They give excellent care and the co-workers really rocked. But, I guess I’m getting old or something, because I can just no longer do it.

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on September 27, 2013, in Medical, The Pig's Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hear ya. Working long hours, missing out on family events, having to commute to and from work. It gets to be a lot.
    I recently quit my job and am working online now. I no longer have to deal with job related stress and I really couldn’t be happier.
    Feel free to connect with me if you’d like to learn more about what I do.
    I love helping people out.

    Like

    • I’m a nurse and love working with people. So, an online job would remove the best part of what I do, which is connecting with other people. But, I have to admit that working from home would be nice in so many ways! Working in my jammies sure would be nice 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

