What inspires you to help a stranger?


Everything, nothing, other’s help… My job!

Let’s start with my job. I’m a nurse. Taking care of people (helping them) is what my profession is all about. All my patients are strangers when they are first admitted. So, what made me want to be a nurse? First, I have to work. No job means that I can’t take care of my family. I’ve always believed that if you are going to spend 40 hours a week doing something that it should be something you love. For me, that means doing something that makes me feel I’ve done something that matters. At the end of the day, did I make a difference? Working as a nurse, I can say that most days I feel that way about my job. There are days that I ask myself “why do I do this?!” But usually not 😉

Ok, so about the “everything”. I look around me and see what is going on in this world. I can’t help but come to the conclusion that most of the problems boil down to people not thinking about others enough.  If we just stopped and thought about the things that we do on a daily basis and consider how they would affect others as well as ourselves, I think things would be better. I don’t think that I will ever change the world, but I believe that I can make the place I live in a little better and I can make things easier for those around me. Not to mention that I believe in Karma. Helping others is helping yourself. When you help your neighbor rake the lawn, they are likely to help you carry in you groceries…  By helping the people we live with and around, everyone’s needs are better met. I find this especially true with family. If each person would contribute in the ways that they can, much more would get done for more people.

Ok, about the “nothing”. Do I really need a reason to help people? I just find myself wanting to do so. If I see someone that needs something that I can help with, I help. No reason needed. We’re all human. LOL. Maybe that’s a reason 😉

Lastly, I am inspired by those strangers that have helped me when I was in a pinch. There have been several time s in my life that a stranger has helped me when they didn’t have to, when they could have walked by. Someone who gave me some change to ride the subway while I was in Boston; it would have been a really long walk. A clerk that gave me the correct change when I didn’t realize that I had over paid; I thought that I had given them a 5 when I gave them a 50 and they knew I didn’t realize it. Someone that stopped to ask if we were ok when a family member and I went off the road; they let us use their cell phone to call for someone to get us out of the ditch. There have been so many times in my life that strangers have helped me. I feel that I owe these people. It’s unlikely that I will ever meet these people again and even if I did, it’s unlikely that I would recognize them. The only way to repay these acts of kindness is to live in the spirit of them and also show kindness to a stranger.

So, I challenge you to commit a random act of kindness every day. I challenge you to be aware of others and to help those that you can, even strangers. Let’s see if we can make our little part of the planet a little better…

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Ramblings and Rants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

