At what age do you think it’s appropriate for children to get —


I’m not big on picking “appropriate ages” for children to get privileges/responsibilities. I really think that this is something that should be directed by the child. Every child grows and develops at a different rate and thus will be ready for different things at different points in their lives. Thus, a parent should assess their child and give privileges/responsibilities based upon that assessment. I also think that privileges and responsibilities are a single unit. If a child can’t be responsible, they aren’t ready for the privilege. My daughter is amazing and there are many things that I feel completely comfortable trusting her with, but there are still many things that I don’t. She’s 12 and I would completely trust her with a cell phone. Would all 12 year old girls be responsible enough for a cell phone? Probably not. Hell, I’ve met 20 year old people that aren’t responsible enough for a cell phone! You know what I’m saying here?

Powered by Plinky

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on January 17, 2012, in Prompts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was shocked out of my life when I saw a girl so much smaller than me, she was less than half my size, when I was in Secondary school, and holding a phone much larger than her tiny hands, looking at it while she lugged her sister with another hand. She was carrying a huge bag about her own size to boot!

    Then, I had not felt the need for a phone and had not requested for one. You can imagine my shock.

    When I sit down and consider your qns (as in the title), I could not think of a certain appropriate time. I compared myself with others around my age, esp those around me and available for comparison, and I found myself unable to get a gauge. I was given my “freedom” quite early in life, though I was very tightly controlled when I was in my primary school days. (about 7-9 years old) Then, I guess all the hectic schedule my mother put me in was enough for me to really study to get out of it, and I guess I slowly slowly convince her I could be responsible with my studies and money by making choices on my own and informing her about my choices and decisions and also help if I deem necessary. And slowly slowly, she gave me the reins. It wasn’t until I was old enough to think about it that i realised it really happened. As opposed to people who still had to ask for permission to spend when they were 18. And of course, I never understood my friends parents whereby they were the same age as me and still have to ask for permission to go out, etc….

    Like

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

