If I Had Grown Up Without Siblings…


Wow. I think everything would have been different if I didn’t have siblings. I have 2 brothers and 2 sisters. They have always been a part of my life and there are enough of us that I was always around one of them. I think questions like this are impossible to answer. There is no way of us to comprehend the amount in which another person affects us. What choices in my life were influenced by my having siblings? Did I discover a passion for writing because I oldest sister wrote some of the most magical short stories? Or was I drawn to writing by something inherent within me? There is just no way to know. But I can say with certainty, that my siblings have had a great influence in my life! When we were growing up, it felt like we were a band unto ourselves. The rest of the world just didn’t seem as important or as intense. My best and worst childhood memories are all tangled up with them. I cannot separate myself from them, the knots are too tight to be undone. More to the point, I have never had any desire to be separated from them. That isn’t to say that they have never pissed me off… Oh, all 4 of them are experts in pissing me off… But I think that only because intense emotions go together. There is a saying: you are more likely to hurt the ones you love. I think this is true because the people we care about expect more from us then strangers do. If a complete stranger calls you an idiot, it is fairly easy to shrug it off and move on in life. But when your sibling does it, you cannot help but feel it intensely. You expect more from them. So, yeah. We were an unruly bunch. We did everything fiercely! We fought like devils. I’m not entirely sure how we made it to adulthood. LOL! It must be testimony to the powerful biological drive that mothers feel for their offspring… and mothers need it, or babies would never make it all the way to adulthood! I suppose I’m ranting and not really even answering the question any more. Basically, I think this question is going back to the question of nature vs nurture. There is much about me that would undoubtedly be different if my siblings were not present during my childhood. Yet, I think the fundamental core of who I am would be the same. And how would my life change? Well, that would depend on what kind of person I would have been. My siblings are all very intellectual creatures and they pushed me to struggle with understanding the world around me. I think I would still have had the same level of intelligence, but would I have had the same passion for learning? Who knows?

Powered by Plinky

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on August 29, 2011, in Prompts, The Pig's Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

