I Have Nothing to Say… REALLY!


Its been a while since I have written a blog here, so I feel like I should post something. However, I find that I really have nothing to say. I know, right? I can see all of you now nodding your heads knowingly while you are thinking to yourselves that I always have something to say. In my defense, I want to say that in writing this, I am really not speaking and thus am quite silent. Additionally, the act of speaking is really only the creation of noise and thus does not dictate (by definition) that I have said anything at all (even though I am always speaking). So, I suppose that brings you to the statement that I am merely playing with semantics. I could only respond that of course I am. After all, speaking is the creation of sound but communicating is the art of semantics and if you are able to read the letters lumped together in this blog then it means you already agree with me on the basics of semantics. If you agree with me at the foundation of my argument, how can you disagree with my point? I suppose that you can’t agree with my point either because I have neither presented one nor actually began with the objective of making one. If I don’t have a point, that means this blog has never been written. After all, one cannot get things going without a firm grasp upon the subject’s starting point. Which of course is irrelevant because I have nothing to say in this blog today. Since my blog is so empty while being filled with these lines of words, I could not help but think about the way that meaning is culturally derived. How is it that meaning is denoted upon a word? I suppose that someone makes up the word and then explains it to someone else. That someone else thinks that someone made a rather good word and begins to use it himself (never thinking he should check for copy rights…). Once someone else starts using this word, others began to hear it and they assume its meaning based on the context of its usage. Thus, someone’s word changes in meaning while it maintains its form. When others are using it, they are bound to spell this word incorrectly even while they are using the word within its agreed upon contextual meaning. Everyone is bound to encounter this incorrect spelling and improperly assume that its written correctly. In doing so, everyone has changed the form of someone’s word. This means that someone’s word has changed in both form and meaning. This is the heritage of semantics. I suppose that’s why no one ever uses him properly nor really seems to grasp his meaning. I rather think this is why language is so much like the human soul. After all, it always changes form and never maintains a constant meaning. And since you have no idea what I have written, I have said nothing. I’m sorry, but I did warn you that I had nothing to say today…

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on July 30, 2011, in Ramblings and Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

