Why is Marriage a Legal Matter?


I generally don’t make posts regarding politics, but I feel I really need to say a few things on the topic of marriage. I am for letting gays marry and even people who want multiple spouses. This is not to say that I personally am looking for either in my life, but I think people should have the right to choose. I think one of the amazing thing is that marriage is a legal matter at all. I think that the idea of keeping the church and the state separate is one that we should strongly hold onto. How can we respect the religious rights of everyone if we don’t keep religious issues out of the law. In my opinion, marriage should solely a religious matter and not a legal issue at all. I am an advocate of choice. If people want to do something that causes to harm to others then they should be allowed to make that choice. If people choose to get married, it has no effect on other people. They should be allowed to do so by the law. If religions want to decide who can’t get married, that’s the right of the churches. I have nothing against a priest saying that he will not marry people who are marrying outside his faith. But, it should still be legal for them to do so! Why is the law involved in marriage anyway?! There are numerous religions that believe in multiple spouses and are advocates for gay marriage. This is a personal choice based on personal/religious ethics/morals. I could rant about this forever, but I really think I’ve covered my thought on the matter: the law should stay the fuck out of it!

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever

Posted on July 17, 2011, in Ramblings and Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Mistakes & Adventures

What I've always wanted

BioethicsBytes

Multimedia resources for teaching bioethics

Rediskot

Art shenanigans of Xenia Bougaevsky

Crochet Thread

A Modern Interpretation of Vintage Crochet by Ann Reillet Featuring Many Original Designs

Elzeblaadje

Crafting with hook, needle and yarn

Son's Popkes

Crochet animal patterns designed by Sonja van der Wijk

